Accessing Raspberry Pi peripherals

Hello,
I have installed Emteria OS on my raspberry pi 4B. I want to use various sensors like GPS to get the coordinates and display it. GPS sensor works on UART. How should I go about it? My major concern is how do I access and read the UART ports on Emteria android OS.

Thanks

Comments

• Hi @GeekElectronic
    For GPS we've included this driver: https://github.com/emteria/hardware_generic_gps
    We also have an older example how to access GPIOs: https://github.com/emteria/samples_apps_Serial
    I think these two sources might already help

• Thank you so much for sharing the links. I will go through it and let you know if any help is needed.

• I am not getting exactly what should be the steps. For the GPS driver it mentions : 'To set serial port, add a property "ro.kernel.android.gps" and set it equal to your GPS device file. ie. ro.kernel.android.gps=ttyO1'

Do I need to do the following changes on Android Studio?

I am new to this development. Can you please elaborate the process or can you share any links to learn this from ground up.
    Thank you so much for your help

• I have exactly the same question. Have you been able to get a GPS to work?

build.prop on the system seems to have the correct device. If I cat that port, I see the GPS sentences in adb shell. But the correct location is not available to applications.

Also, is there some tutorial on how to edit build.prop in the Emteria OS?

I've spent hours searching the internet and none of the suggested mechanisms for editing build.prop seem to work. I keep getting read-only filesystem, and trying to remount the system as rw simply doesn't work. /system is not a mount, and I've been unable to mount system_ext as rw.

RPi 4B, Emteria Android 14.1

• @GeekElectronic As mentioned the driver is already integrated, the properties should also already be set accordingly. The device is ttyACM0