Emteria Lagging Problem

I have installed emteria on RPI 3 b+ model, installation done smoothly, installed amazon prime, but while playing video the system is restarting every 20-30 minutes after downloading the video also and system is lagging while opening menu or settings, and i am using 39" LED tv for this.. any suggessions ?

Comments

• What resolution are you running?

• What he said ^
  • Is your system overclocked or anything? Do you have heat sinks on your chips?

I found overclocking to really make a difference in my system responsiveness. I don’t have full turbo enabled all the time only for the first 60s at boot.
  • Ok I am new to this, turbo for the first 60 seconds :smiley: . I have to explore the pi and emteria menu more. I just opened it once for screen rotation....
  • @kknott , where do I find this turbo function in emteria os?
  • You’d find it under /boot/config.txt which is the standard config file for the RPI.

See here for documentation on oveclocking and the initial_turbo setting:

https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/config-txt/overclocking.md

I can post a copy of my overclock settings I use on raspbian / emteria if you want? Keep in mind that you’ll need to either remount the /boot/ partition as read/write or have a file manager set up with root privledges so you can edit the file.

Of course using the config would be at your own risk, I’m running heat sinks on mine and am waiting on a fan from Amazon. Overclocking really seems to make a difference in making Emteria a bit more snappy.

Keep in mind all boards vary somewhat, so you’ll want to a) take a backup of your config file before starting and b) have access to a Linux OS to you can revert changes to the config.txt file should your system fail to boot.

To overclock you can simply set force_turbo=1 but keep in mind this will void your warranty. There are other overclock settings which you can use safely and not void the warranty like arm_freq.