VPN is not working

Hi,
I'm using some VPN application which was working properly under RTAndroid.
Since i switched to Emteria OS it doesn't work, VPN says it's connected with that key on the notification bar however my ip address doesn't change at all.

Any suggestions?

Comments

• edited October 2017

You all can download Hotspot Shield off Google play.
    When you turn it on you will notice that your ip address doesn't change.
    The screenshot describes the problem as there is no sent or received traffic.

vpn.png

• I've just invested some time trying out different apps without any success. There are no errors being thrown in the logcat :confused: I have very little knowledge in networking, so I don't even know how to debug it. Might be interesting to compare the logcat output between RTAndroid and emteria...

• Thank you for replying Igor,
    I have tried many apps too and non is working, the traffic doesn't pass through the VPN app although it says it's connected.
    Therefore all installed apps act as if there is no VPN.
    I think that problem is cause by removing some feature from RTAndroid
    I suggest that you bring back all the removed apps like
    Phone/Dialer
    Cellular Data
    Phone Call Management
    Although they seem to be useless but they somehow affect some other app.

• @roxette, is this application (Hotspot) working on other devices? Or do you know if it was working on RTAndroid? It looks like the VPN server is dead, so I'm not sure what to debug.

• edited October 2017

Hotspotshield.png

Yes it was working on RTAndroid.
    Actually it's still working on some other Android image ... check screenshot.
    Perhaps you can debug it using that image, i think you know which image i'm referring to.
    The problem is your ISP might blocked VPN.

• That the problem is caused by the new kernel. If I replace the new kernel (4.9.58) by the old one (4.4.50), but still use the latest emteria.OS, the app is working fine.