How to configure audio output and screen orientation, Rpi 4

edited January 2022 in OS features

Hi, I am new to emteria and raspberry pi. I have my rpi4 plugged into a phillips monitor but the sound does not work. If i plug in headphones into the audio jack of the screen the sound works. I would like to know how to configure it so that the sound can work from the monitor. Ideally it would work from the monitor, or from headphones if they were plugged in. Regarding orientation i set the orientation to 270degrees because my screen is portrait, but whenever emteria starts it starts in landscape. Is there any way I can force it to start in portrait mode? Thank you for your advice.

Tagged:

Comments

• I see there is an option to set the device orientation on the emteria website. So perhaps if I do that and then reflash the OS it will always load at what I set it at? I think I will try that. Still not sure about the monitor sound.

• hi @telica ,
    What version of emteria.OS did you try? We had some issues with screen orientation in the past, but since v11.5.0 the rotation should automatically persist.
    I have some difficulties following your headphone issue. Are you using the audio jack of the monitor or the audio jack of the RPi4?
    Assuming the later: We have some Raspberry Pi specific configurations under Settings > System > expand Advanced > Raspberry Pi
    There you can change the audio to either be forwarded via HDMI or audio jack.

• Hi, thanks for your reply. I am using 11.3.0. How can I upgrade it? Should I reflash onto the same SD card or a new SD card? Can I use the same licence I bought? I don't know how the licence system works.

I cannot see those audio settings under that area, maybe they are there on the updated OS version only? The audio from the monitor's headphone jack is fine, but the monitor has speakers built in, but I can't figure out how to get the audio to play from the monitor's built in speakers.